What the Heck is a BFLG?

So we have established in my first two posts that I had been in a dreary place last year. In fits and spurts, I would have moments of clairty about who I was and where I wanted to go/be. But I had a hard time gaining traction on any other those desires or visions. I made endless to-do lists.  I wrote down every desire in the spirit of attracting them. But it was as if every word was written with trepidation on a very cloud sheet of paper.

Today, right now, I don’t know what this year will bring. And I certainly don’t have the answers. But in my attempt to renovate this So Full Life of mine, I knew I needed to get really clear on the big picture. I needed BIG FUCKING LIFE GOAL clarity.

What would my life look life and how would if feel?

For me BFLG clarity had to start with some good ol’ fashion quiet time with my imagination and my heart. I spent a couple of days thinking about this question: “If money were no object and time was not an issue, what would my life look like and how would it feel?” My mind swiftly and clearly lead me to answers. I would wake refreshed and focused. I would go to sleep tired but happy. I would have patience and energy with my kids. I would have dates with my man. I would create: write, paint, make beautiful things, photograph. I would connect and collaborate with other creative souls on creative ideas. I would use my skills, my passions, and my energy to be of service to others. I would take care of myself by going to bed and reading, having a regular yoga, swimming, walking and meditation practice.

As I thought about this ideal, I saw threads in what I love about my life now, what I am missing in my life now, and where I would love my life to go. After a few days of marinating with these thoughts, those random threads began to cluster and braid themselves to create three very clear golden tethers to a larger than life vision.

I wrote it down. In my life I want to: Experience & Enjoy, Share & Connect, and Inspire & Be Inspired. I could see how all my wants, from connecting with my family to starting to paint again, fit into one of these three larger goals. I could see how one of my dreams of travelling around the US & Canada for at least 3 months with the kids and write about it fit into my desire to experience and my need to share. I could see how my desire to write this blog was not just another thing to do but was helping to fulfill my bigger purpose of sharing and connecting.

As for my copious lists of to-dos or not-to-dos? With a clearer idea of what I wanted my life to look like and how I wanted it to feel, I knew what to keep and what to ditch. Creating my Big Fucking Life Goals made planning those next steps easier and clearer. For now. That is the great thing about making your own plan – you can change it anytime you want.

Leave a Reply

